Cheddar Broccoli Soup

This is a soup that I have made for years and years! It’s always my go to soup to take to parties or for company because everyone loves it. I made a few additions this time for the heck of it and it turned out even better! You can leave out the ham & chard or add other veggies that you have. This was just a yummy addition that I really liked.  It also freezes well if you have extras.

Cheddar Broccoli Soup

6 c whole milk
6 T flour (I use soft white wheat and I can’t tell the difference over white)
6 T butter
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
3 c cheddar cheese
1 T dijon mustard
2 c shredded carrots (I really didn’t measure I just threw in what I had)
1-1 1/2 c chopped ham
2 c chard, chopped small ( threw in what I had again, so it could have been less)
2-3 bunches broccoli, chopped small

Throw chopped veggies into a large stock pot and barely cover with water. Cook till barely tender about 10 minutes.  While veggies are cooking blend the butter, flour, milk, salt & pepper in a blender. When veggies are ready add the blender contents to the pan and stir with a wisk until the butter melts.  Cook until thickened over medium heat. Add the mustard and cheese and cook until cheese is melted. Serve!

Leave a Reply

