Marinara Sauce

English: Ravioli Marinara (Mangia Trattoria)

English: Ravioli Marinara (Mangia Trattoria) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Oh I just have to share that I don’t like spaghetti and sauce. I am extremely picky when it comes to red sauces. I’ve made one with meat and canned it even for years. But it never seems to be sweet enough for me.  I even learned a trick of sticking a whole carrot into the sauce as it cooks and it soaks up acidity.  Yesterday I wanted to make a quick dinner. I had bought some premade tortellini from Costco thinking it would be fast. Well I just didn’t want to open a can of red sauce I decided to make my own and try a different simple recipe.  I even made a white sauce to go with it thinking I would at least be able to mix the two and I would like it better. Well I have to say the red sauce was fantastic. I’m so excited about it!! By the way it’s super easy!

Marinara Sauce (Meatless)

Brown 1 med. onion in 1 T olive oil
Add:
3 (15 oz) cans tomato sauce
1 (15 oz) can diced tomatoes
1 1/2 cans water
1 can pumpkin (this is what sweetens it and adds another veggie for picky kids)
3-4 cloves garlic
3 tsp Italian spices
salt & pepper to taste

Simmer as long as you can. I only had 1 hour and it was still great.  This made a large batch. Enough for 2-3 meals. Freeze the leftovers.

One thought on “Marinara Sauce

  1. VERY interesting. I’ve never considered putting pumpkin in, but I can see why that might work – and without any refined sugar. Nice one. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

