It’s Leap Day!! & Salmon Chowder

I made a goal for our family when we were first married that every leap year day we would eat a special meal and use our china. So even if we never did during the year (which we do) we would have a chance to teach our children about manners and make it a special day at least every four years. I thought it was a cool idea.

Well it’s our 3rd leap day and I am on the couch with a cold and my horrible back that I’ve been down with for 2 months and I wondered how I was going to pull off a nice dinner when we’ve been surviving on freezer meals for weeks.  Well first I had to really lower my expectations and realize my children ages 11, 8, & 4 probably don’t remember the last leap year day. So I settled on a salmon chowder and I even used canned salmon!! Heaven forbid! I just couldn’t pull myself off the couch to thaw and then cook the salmon.  I already had celery and onions chopped and frozen in the freezer so all I really had to do for prep was chop 2 potatoes and make the white sauce. And I have to say that this will be a staple in our house. It turned out fantastic. I even took a picture we’ll see if i can get it uploaded. I still don’t know how. Anyone out there know?

Salmon Chowder

  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 3/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped celery
  • 1 teaspoon chopped garlic
  • 2 cups diced potatoes
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon dried dill weed
  • 2 (6 ounce) cans salmon
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 cup Cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 6 tablespoons whole wheat flour
  • 2 c. whole milk

Directions

  1. Melt 2 T butter in a large pot over medium heat. Saute onion, celery, and garlic  until onions are tender. Stir in potatoes,water salt, pepper, dill & the salmon juice in the cans. Bring to a boil, and reduce heat. Cover, and simmer 20 minutes or until potatoes are barely tender.
  2. Meanwhile put 6 T butter, the flour, milk and heavy cream in a blender and blend till butter is chopped and incorporated about 10 seconds. This is your white sauce.
  3. Stir in salmon, white sauce, corn, and cheese. Cook until thickened & heated through stirring constantly.
One thought on “It’s Leap Day!! & Salmon Chowder

Leave a Reply

