Meatball Pizza Soup

This is one of the top most favorite meals for my family.  I found it in a Rachael Ray cook book years ago when lo carb was all the rage. I personally feel like it was too much meat even back then when I ate a lot of meat.  I also would add 1 cup whole wheat macaroni. It makes a fantastic freezer meal. Make one tonight and freeze one in a gallon freezer bag.  I don’t like it in a crockpot though. It’s best just made in a pot on the stove.  This can easily be made into a gluten free meal by leaving out the bread crumbs or using a little brown rice in the meatballs.  This is my version.

2 T butter
1 large onion, chopped
1/2 lb italian sausage (I use my homemade turkey sausage with no sugar or nitrates)
4 garlic cloves minced
1 carrot peeled and chopped
2 celery ribs, chopped
2-3 c chopped cauliflower
1 quart chicken broth
1 can of white or red beans
1 can (15 oz) pizza sauce (I use my homemade spaghetti sauce recipe)

Meatballs:
1 lb ground beef (pasture-fed preferably)
1/2 c parmesan
2 T bread crumbs or cooked brown rice
1 egg yolk, beaten
salt & pepper
1/2 tsp allspice
Heat a large stock pot over medium high heat. Add the butter and onions and sausage and cook till browned. (I usually have my sausage already cooked and stored in freezer bags in my freezer so I just add it and have it thaw.)  Then add all the rest of your ingredients and bring to a boil.

Meanwhile mix  all of the meatball ingredients in a bowl.  Form very small bite size balls and drop them into the boiling liquid.  Let them cook for about 8 minutes.  Serve with a nice green salad and some parmesan sprinkled on top.

This is really a very easy recipe and very nutritious. You can change the amounts of meat you want. I think it would even be good with chicken and sausage.  The pizza sauce really makes it great. So the better quality your sauce the better.

 

Leave a Reply

