Stir Fry

It’s late and I should be sleeping. I am so ready for school to start but one more day until it does. I am all about vegetables and cleansing my body right now. I have a bit of cravings still from eating sugar over Christmas. Wow my body really reacts to corn chips and pure sugar.  I have to get back to last year when there was none of that in my house so then I wasn’t tempted!  I need to go grocery shopping so tonight I used up the last of my fresh vegetables and made Stir fry.

Electric rice cooker including scoop, containi...

I love rice cookers

 

I cooked short grain brown rice in my rice cooker. (If you don’t have one I highly suggest it! It’s made my life so much easier in the kitchen and no more wasted burnt rice down the sink.)

Easy Stir Fry

3 T coconut oil

1/4 head of cabbage, shredded fine

4 carrot sticks sliced thin

1 c chopped Broccoli

1/2 head of cauliflower

1/2  red onion, sliced into strips-pole to pole

1/2 T grated fresh ginger(makes all the difference if fresh)

1 heaping T chopped fresh garlic

The key to good stir fry is keeping the pan hot. Turn on your pan to low with the oil in it while you chop. Then right before you are ready turn the heat to high. Then add your onions. Saute 2 min. Then add your veggie that takes the longest to cook like cauliflower or carrots. Saute 2-3 min. Then add your second veggie like the broccoli & sauté 2-3 min.  Add your garlic and ginger. Once your veggies are done to your liking add the sauce but only cook a minute if you using arrowroot. You don’t want to boil arrowroot or it doesn’t stay thick. Serve over brown rice.  This is a great recipe to use up whatever veggie you have in your fridge. You can add meat, chicken or shrimp. Just remove the veggies add more oil to your pan and cook the protein then add the veggies back in and add the sauce.

Sauce:

1-2 T soy sauce or coconut aminos

2 tsp maple syrup

1 tsp Mirin

A bottle of commercially produced Japanese mirin

Mirin

1 tsp Rice wine vinegar

1 tsp + sesame oil

1 T arrowroot powder or corn starch
These are estimates cause I love to just throw it together and hope it tastes good. Oh did it!!  So try it and if it’s not to your liking adjust. I think the Mirin was particularly great in it. Find it in the Asian section of the grocery store.

Leave a Reply

