Susan’s Coconut Thai Veggie Soup

Funny name? Too long? I couldn’t decide what to call it.  It’s really my sister’s recipe and she has a blog but hasn’t put it up yet. So I am putting it on my blog first!  I haven’t made it by myself yet, when I do I will try to remember to take a picture and try to remember to get my husband to teach me how to upload the picture.  This was served in bread bowls and was very much a comfort food. You do not need to serve in a bread bowl. It is very filling on it’s own.  My sister uses whatever veggies she has in the fridge but I’m writing down what she served me.

Susan’s Coconut Thai Veggie Soup

Curry in the spice-bazaar (egypitan) in Istanbul

Image via Wikipedia

2 potatoes cubed
1-2 sweet potatoes cubed
1 onion chopped small
2-3 carrots sliced
1/2 of a head of cabbage chopped into bite size pieces
1 can coconut milk
1 whole chicken
curry powder
arrowroot powder or whole wheat flour

Cook the chicken in the crockpot for at least 4 hours or overnight. Take the meat off the chicken and set aside. Saute the onion and other veggies in a large stockpot, omit the cabbage till later. Add chicken broth (the water you cooked your chicken in) till just covering the veggies. Add the cabbage and chicken and curry.  Bring to a boil and cook till veggies tender.  Mix arrowroot or flour with the can of coconut milk then add to the soup. Do not boil if using the arrowroot powder. It will break down and just be runny.  Serve!

 

Leave a Reply

