Hambone Soup

I’ve been sick for a week. My grandmother died and I had to drive 5 hours to her funeral and stayed up way too late for 3 nights talking with family. Needless to say I’m worn out. But my  mother graciously gave me the largest hambone I’ve ever seen. So before I crashed on the couch all day I made this yummy, comfort food.

Hambone Soup

You can use one hambone to make as large a pot of soup as you like. So double and freeze the leftovers for a cold winter night.

Cover your beans in warm water & soak for at least 7 hours to get rid of the phytic acid. If you don’t have time soak Boil 3 cups of water per 1 cup of white beans.  Bring the water to a boil then add your beans. Cook for 2 minutes. Turn off the heat, cover and let sit for 1 hour.  Then add 1 onion and any spices you like except the salt and cook for at least 2 hours but longer is better. You may have to keep adding water.

I cooked mine for 4-5 hours today and when I checked all the water was gone. I added more at the end and heated it up and all was still great.

At the end of the 2+ hours add salt and pepper to taste and pieces of ham. Remove the bone and with the back of the spoon smash some of the beans or use an immersion blender to blend just a little of the beans to thicken.  I served with a green salad and my homemade ketchup.  The ketchup gives a really nice flavor to the soup.

Leave a Reply

