Healthy Pumpkin Cookies

I was looking for a cookie recipe that my kids would love while we watch a movie tonight. I also wanted one that I was ok with feeding them. And even though it’s 90 degrees outside still, I am in the mood for fall! I hung my fall decorations today! I am a total sucker for fall things! I hate halloween but love fall. Have you gotten that I love fall by now?

So let’s eat pumpkin. About 7 years ago I got on a pumpkin kick. I made everything pumpkin I could find! I burned out on pumpkin. I think I’m ready to try pumpkin again. So Katie over at Kitchen Stewardship had this great recipe. I am going to help my kids make it tonight. My mother used to make wonderful pumpkin cookies with a glaze that are to die for. I will try to alter it to be whole food in the future and post it here.

Kitchen Stewardship’s Healthy Pumpkin Cookies

Ingredients

 

2 cups butter or coconut oil or palm shortening (see above to use some flax seed, as well)
1 1/2 c. sucanat (unrefined cane sugar)
16 oz. can pumpkin or 2 c. pumpkin puree (squash works, too!)
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
4 c. white whole wheat flour
2 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp.nutmeg
½ tsp. allspice
1 tsp. salt
2 c. chocolate chips or raisins
1 c. chopped nuts

Method

Cream fat and sweetener. Add pumpkin, eggs and vanilla; beat well. Stir together flour and next 6 dry ingredients. Add to batter; mix well. Stir in choc chips and nuts.

Drop rounded teaspoonfuls two inches apart on a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 12-15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

