Lentil Sloppy Joes

I found a  great new cookbook from the library called The Vegetarian SlowCooker.  

I tried this new recipe and my whole family ate it. My hubby gave it a score of 7. Which is pretty good for a vegetarian dish.  Because it was so healthy and easy  I would give it at least an 8.5!  I served it with a Thai Coleslaw.

Lentil Sloppy Joes (With my adaptations. I also doubled this and had enough leftovers for lunch the next day!)

1 T butter

1 onion, finely chopped

4 celery stalks, diced

4 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 c organic ketchup

1/4 c water (more if adding uncooked lentils)

1 T balsamic vinegar

1 T sucanat or brown sugar

1 T Dijon mustard

2 c cooked brown or green lentils, drained and rinsed (I soaked my lentils for a couple of hours then put about 3 cups of the soaked lentils right into the crockpot.)

In a skillet, heat the butter over medium heat. Add onion and celery and cook, stirring, until softened, about 5 min.  Add garlic, oregano, salt to taste and cook for 1 min.  Stir in ketchup, water, vinegar, sugar, and mustard. Transfer to slow cooker. Add lentils and stir well.

Cover and cook on low for 6 hours or high for 3 hours until hot and bubbly. Add hot pepper sauce if you want. I didn’t. Serve over homemade buns!

Thai Coleslaw

This is from another cookbook I found at the library.  The Native Foods Restaurant Cookbook.  I haven’t been as impressed with this one but have only tried 3 recipes from it. This dressing scored big with me. Again with my adaptations.

1/2 a head of cabbage shredded small

2 carrots shredded

1/4 tsp sea salt

3/4 c Sesame Orange Vinaigrette(below)

I think it would be yummy to add mango, peanuts, fresh pineapple or roasted sesame seeds. I didn’t as I was in a hurry and my kitchen was a mess with my husband trying to install a dishwasher, that’s another story.

Sesame Orange Vinaigrette

1/2 c orange juice (freshly squeezed yum)

1/4 c rice vinegar

1/4 c maple syrup

2 T grated ginger(don’t skip this)

3/4 c olive oil

1/4 c toasted sesame oil (I just realized I skipped this and it was still yummy)

1 T sea salt

1/4 tsp pepper

Mix all together and pour over salad!

 

 

Leave a Reply

