Getting Ready for School Lunch?

More & more schools are being targeted about their unhealthy lunches. I still don’t see progress being made in that area. Our kids need good whole milk not skim and no matter what you say chicken nuggets just aren’t “real” food and fries are not a vegetable!  My kids take sack lunches everyday.

My 7 year old is pickier(not bad but pickier) and likes jelly sandwiches every day with applesauce. My oldest likes leftovers or other things but hates sandwiches. I try to have a pretty good variety of things around for them to pick. I am not a fan of cold lunches so I try to make theirs  as appetizing as possible so it doesn’t get tossed in the trash.  So here are a few ideas and I will add more as my kids come up with them.

We have an excel spread sheet that I typed up with  5 categories then my kids pick one from each category. It reminds them what to eat without staring in the fridge and it reminds me what I need from the store when I ‘m making my list.

Categories:

Main Item: PB & J sandwich, Yogurt, pizza sticks, calzones, boiled egg, PB crackers, lunchable, leftovers, tuna sandwich, cowboy caviar, salad

Vegetable: carrot sticks, celery sticks, jicama, cucumber slices, pickles, broccoli, cauliflower, tomatoes(cherry), avacado, artichoke, sprouts(sunflower, alfalfa, mung bean, adzuki bean)

Fruit: Grapes, apples, applesauce, pears, fruit leather, raisins, peaches, plums, banana

Grain: muffin, granola bar, pretzels, crackers, popcorn, breadsticks, tortilla (all these are homemade, otherwise you are getting all kinds of nasty extras in there or you are paying an arm and a leg for stuff that still has questionable things)

Protein: trail mix, nuts, cheese, peanut butter(added to celery or apple), pinto beans

I have a stash of extra plastic spoons & forks, plastic bags and paper bags all set up on one shelf  in my pantry.  Next to it is a basket  with snacks like trail mix, nuts, fruit leather, dried fruit and other dry homemade snacks. They can grab them quick to throw in their lunch. This year I’m going to get a rubbermaid and stock it with veggies and fruit already cut and bagged in the fridge so they can grab it quick too.

 

One thought on “Getting Ready for School Lunch?

  1. Love your ideas for lunches! I pack a lunch for almost everyone in my house 5 days a week. I definitely need to see ideas from others 🙂 I’m sharing this blog post with my SIL as well!

Leave a Reply

