Grain free Granola

So in my family we soak our grains in warm water and leave them on the counter from 7-24 hours before eating them.  It reduces phytic acid which binds up minerals and the “good stuff” and stops our bodies from absorbing them.  If I don’t have time to soak my grains which frequently I don’t, then I try to serve other foods. Particularly produce.  My son is a bread fanatic! I haven’t gone to sourdough yet, I intend to this summer.  So my bread is not soaked so I don’t want him to eat too much of it.  Well as I consider that we need to eat less grains I am looking for recipes that we love with less grains. I came across this recipe today for Grain-free Granola! Iabsolutely love it!!!! It smells so good coming out of the oven beware that you don’t eat the whole batch then and there!

Grain Free Granola
makes 2 Quarts

2 cups almonds
2 cups walnuts
1 cup pumpkin or sunflower seeds
1 cup dried fruit of your choice, chopped into bite size pieces
1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
1/3 cup sesame seeds, optional
1/2 stick butter or coconut oil or combination of both
1/4 cup brown sugar or muscovado sugar or maple syrup
1/4 cup honey
1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla

Preheat oven to 300 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a food processor, place the 2 cups of almonds and pulse a few times until they are chopped up. Some pieces will be much finer than others, which is what you want. Those little, fine pieces will remind you more of what granola is supposed to feel like (i.e. mimics a cereal grain in texture) while the big chunks are welcome as well. Pour almonds into a large mixing bowl. Do the same thing with the walnuts. Add the remaining seeds, fruit and coconut to the bowl and mix well.

In the meantime, combine butter, sugar and honey over heat until combined. Take off heat and stir in vanilla.

Pour the hot liquid into the nut mixture and stir well until evenly combined and all pieces are coated.

Pour the granola out onto a greased, walled cookie sheet and spread out to an even layer. Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes until you can smell the nuts roasting. When done, remove and allow to briefly cool on the cookie sheet before decanting into your preferred storage jar while still warm, taking care not to allow it to cool completely on the cookie sheet as it can stick.

3 thoughts on “Grain free Granola

    • Eric
      I haven’t yet! I want to! I have several friends who can’t have gluten so I really want to try this. Hopefully this summer.

      • I finally tried this recipe and I absolutely love love it! It smells so good baking that my kids were ravenous and ate tons for dinner. Tip: Don’t cook the dried fruit with it. Add it at the end. It dries out and turns rubbery. But I highly suggest this recipe

Leave a Reply

